22-24 April 2015

Università della Svizzera italiana (USI), Lugano, Switzerland

Download the call for papers


Questions of corporate governance and corporate responsibility have been heightened by a number of corporate scandals and other events leading up to the financial crash of 2008. In the meantime, philosophers and lawyers have been questioning the very meaning of corporate agency and responsibility, while progress by economists in the theory of the firm is widely perceived to have slowed.

Bringing together internationally leading scholars from several disciplines, the First WINIR Symposium, organized with the assistance of the Brenno Galli Chair of Law and Economics and the support of the Fondazione Ricerca e Sviluppo of USI and the Fondo Galli, will address these problems, and forge a road ahead for future research and policy.

Keynotes lectures, representing four academic disciplines, will be given by:

Simon Deakin (University of Cambridge, law)
Colin Mayer (University of Oxford, management)
Ugo Pagano (University of Siena & Central European University, economics)
Philip Pettit (Princeton University & Australian National University, philosophy)

Abstract submissions from any discipline on the following topics are welcome: nature of the corporation, corporate agency, corporate responsibility, corporate organization, corporate finance, corporate governance, corporate law, corporate regulation, and corporate history.

Submissions will be evaluated by the WINIR Scientific Quality Committee, currently composed of: Peter Boettke (George Mason University, economics), Simon Deakin (University of Cambridge, law), Geoff Hodgson (University of Hertfordshire, economics), Timur Kuran (Duke University, economics), Uskali Mäki (University of Helsinki, philosophy), Katharina Pistor (Columbia University, law), Sven Steinmo (European University Institute, politics), Wolfgang Streeck (Max Planck Institute Cologne, sociology).

All symposium participants must be members of WINIR.

The symposium registration fee is £210, excluding the official gala dinner. To benefit from the early-bird registration fee of £160 registration must be completed by 31 November 2014.

Please note the following important dates:

31 July 2014 Abstract submission deadline 28 Feb 2015 Registration deadline for accepted authors
31 Aug 2014
Notification of acceptance 1 Mar 2015
Non-registered authors removed from programme
1 Sept 2014
Registration opens 31 Mar 2015 Registration deadline for non-presenters
31 Nov 2014
Early registration deadline 1 Apr 2015 Full paper submission deadline

The WINIR Symposium organising subcommittee comprises: Francesca Gagliardi (f.gagliardi@herts.ac.uk), David Gindis (d.gindis@herts.ac.uk), Geoff Hodgson (g.m.hodgson@herts.ac.uk), Ugo Pagano (pagano@unisi.it), Marcello Puca (marcello.puca@usi.ch) and Massimiliano Vatiero (massimiliano.vatiero@usi.ch).

Generous support for the First WINIR Symposium is provided by