The legacy of Ludwig Lachmann

Interdisciplinary perspectives on institutions, agency and uncertainty

11-13 April 2017

University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa

Venue: PPS, Arcay House, 3 Anerley Road, Johannesburg 2193

Download the call for papers

Ludwig M. Lachmann (1906-1990) was an outstanding social scientist whose achievements ranged across a number of disciplines, including economics, sociology, law and philosophy. Well known for his work on Max Weber, his analysis of the limitations of equilibrium economics, and his contributions to the development of Austrian economics, Lachmann’s legacy revolves around three central themes: radical subjectivism, hermeneutics and human agency; market process and legal order; capital theory and macroeconomics.

To celebrate Lachmann’s life and work, WINIR organising a Symposium in collaboration with the Institutions and Political Economy Group (IPEG) of the University of the Witwatersrand, Lachmann's former university in South Africa where he was Head of the Department of Economics from 1949 to 1972. Submissions on any of the above topics, or any other topic related to Lachmann’s research, are welcome. Papers can be supportive or critical of Lachmann’s views. The Symposium will use Lachmann’s work as a point of departure to generate a wide-ranging discussion of the relations between uncertainty, agency and institutions.

The Symposium will open on the afternoon of Tuesday 11 April and end in the afternoon of Thursday 13 April 2017.

Keynotes lectures will be given by:

Deirdre N. McCloskey (University of Illinois at Chicago)
Richard N. Langlois (University of Connecticut & University of the Witwatersrand)
Virgil H. Storr (George Mason University)

The event will also feature a special plenary session with a group of Lachmann's former students.

Please note the following important dates:

30 Nov 2016
Abstract submission deadline

19 Dec 2016
Notification of acceptance

20 Dec 2016
Registration opens

1 Feb 2017
Early registration deadline

7 Mar 2017
Registration deadline for accepted authors

8 Mar 2017
Non-registered authors removed from programme

1 Apr 2017
Registration deadline for non-presenters

2 Apr 2017
Late surcharge applies

5 Apr 2017
Full paper submission deadline

Organising subcommittee:
Francesca Gagliardi (, Giampaolo Garzarelli (,
David Gindis
(, Geoff Hodgson (, Lyndal Keeton (, Nobantu Mbeki (, Christopher Torr (


Generous support for the WINIR Symposium on Ludwig Lachmann is provided by


to receive updates about this event