22-24 April 2015

Università della Svizzera italiana (USI), Lugano, Switzerland

Download the call for papers

 

Questions of corporate governance and corporate responsibility have been heightened by a number of corporate scandals and other events leading up to the financial crash of 2008. In the meantime, philosophers and lawyers have been questioning the very meaning of corporate agency and responsibility, while progress by economists in the theory of the firm is widely perceived to have slowed.

Bringing together internationally leading scholars from several disciplines, the First WINIR Symposium, organized at the Università della Svizzera italiana (USI) with the assistance of the Brenno Galli Chair of Law and Economicsand the support of the Fondazione Ricerca e Sviluppo of USI and the Fondo Galli, addressed these problems, and forged a road ahead for future research and policy.

The Symposium opened in the afternoon of Wednesday 22 April and ended in the afternoon of Friday 24 April.

Keynotes lectures were given by:

Simon Deakin (University of Cambridge, law)
Colin Mayer (University of Oxford, management)
Ugo Pagano (University of Siena & Central European University, economics)
Philip Pettit (Princeton University & Australian National University, philosophy)

84 delegates from 20 countries attended this event.

The symposium was organised by:
Francesca Gagliardi (f.gagliardi@herts.ac.uk), David Gindis (d.gindis@herts.ac.uk), Geoff Hodgson (g.m.hodgson@herts.ac.uk), Ugo Pagano ( pagano@unisi.it), Marcello Puca (marcello.puca@usi.ch) and Massimiliano Vatiero (massimiliano.vatiero@usi.ch).


Generous support for the WINIR Symposium on Corporations was provided by