Second WINIR Symposium

4-6 April 2016

University of Bristol, Bristol, UK

Download the call for papers

Property rights are a central institutional feature of all politico-economic systems where markets play a major role, and a key item of political controversy between liberal and socialist positions. The role of property rights in matters ranging from interpersonal exchange, power and innovation to corporate governance, privatisation and economic development is debated across several academic disciplines, including economics, history, law, philosophy, politics and sociology. The growing importance of intellectual and other intangible property in modern capitalism has further provoked important ongoing theoretical and policy discussions, part of which revolve around the very meaning of property as opposed to possession.

Bringing together internationally leading institutional researchers from several disciplines, the WINIR Symposium on Property Rights, hosted by the University of Bristol's Faculty of Social Sciencesand Law, addressed these and other related issues.

The Symposium opended in the afternoon of Monday 4 April and ended in the afternoon of Wednesday 6 April.

Keynotes lectures, representing three academic disciplines, were given by:

Benito Arruñada (Pompeu Fabra University, economics)
Gunnar Heinsohn (University of Bremen, sociology)
Larissa Katz (University of Toronto, law)

Abstract submissions from any discipline were welcome.

Submissions were evaluated by the WINIR Scientific Quality Committee, currently composed of: Peter Boettke (George Mason University, economics), Simon Deakin (University of Cambridge, law), Geoff Hodgson (University of Hertfordshire, economics), Timur Kuran (Duke University, economics), Uskali Mäki (University of Helsinki, philosophy), Katharina Pistor (Columbia University, law), Sven Steinmo (European University Institute, politics), Wolfgang Streeck (Max Planck Institute Cologne, sociology).

88 delegates from 26 countries attended this event.

The symposium was organised by Francesca Gagliardi (f.gagliardi@herts.ac.uk), David Gindis (d.gindis@herts.ac.uk), Jeremy Green (jeremy.green@bristol.ac.uk), Tilman Hartley (tilman.hartley@bristol.ac.uk), Geoff Hodgson (g.m.hodgson@herts.ac.uk), Paddy Ireland (paddy.ireland@bristol.ac.uk) and Gregory Schwartz (gregory.schwartz@bristol.ac.uk), with the invaluable help of the WINIR Event Manager, Vinny Logan (vinny@vivarias.co.uk).

Generous support for the WINIR Symposium on Property Rights was provided by