

## The legacy of **Ludwig Lachmann**Interdisciplinary perspectives on institutions, agency and uncertainty

University of the Witwatersrand, Johannesburg, South Africa, 11-13 April 2017

## **CALL FOR PAPERS**

Ludwig M. Lachmann (1906-1990) was an outstanding social scientist whose achievements ranged across a number of disciplines, including economics, sociology, law and philosophy. Well known for his work on Max Weber, his analysis of the limitations of equilibrium economics, and his contributions to the development of Austrian economics, Lachmann's legacy revolves around three central themes: radical subjectivism, hermeneutics and human agency; market process and legal order; capital theory and macroeconomics.

To celebrate Lachmann's life and work, WINIR is holding a Symposium at his former university in South Africa. Submissions on any of the above topics, or any other topic related to Lachmann's research, are welcome. Papers can be supportive or critical of Lachmann's views. The Symposium will use Lachmann's work as a point of departure to generate a wide-ranging discussion of the relations between uncertainty, agency and institutions.

Keynote lectures will be given by: **Deirdre N. McCloskey** (University of Illinois at Chicago), **Richard N. Langlois** (University of Connecticut & University of the Witwatersrand) and **Virgil H. Storr** (George Mason University).

Submissions (300 words max.) from any discipline must be made online at www.winir.org. Please note the deadlines below.

Submissions will be evaluated by the WINIR Scientific Quality Committee, currently comprising: Bas van Bavel (Utrecht, history), Simon Deakin (Cambridge, law), Geoff Hodgson (Hertfordshire, economics), Uskali Mäki (Helsinki, philosophy), Katharina Pistor (Columbia, law), Sven Steinmo (EUI, politics), Wolfgang Streeck (Max Planck Institute Cologne, sociology), Linda Weiss (Sydney, politics).

We look forward to receiving your submission.

30 Nov 2016	Abstract submission deadline	14 Mar 2017	Registration deadline for accepted authors
19 Dec 2016	Notification of acceptance	15 Mar 2017	Non-registered authors removed from programme
20 Dec 2016	Registration opens	1 Apr 2017	Registration deadline for non-presenters
1 Feb 2017	Early registration deadline	8 Apr 2017	Full paper submission deadline



