In recognition for their invaluable service, the editors of JOIE have decided to award a Reviewer of the Year Prize to outstanding reviewers. The announcement is made during the annual WINIR Conference, at the same time as the announcement of the Elinor Ostrom Prize. A prize of £500, funded by Millennium Economics Ltd., was awarded in 2019. From 2020, an award of £400 will be made to two outstanding reviewers every year.

In 2019 the Reviewer of the Year Prize was awarded jointly to Douglas W. Allen (Simon Fraser University, Canada) and Robbert Maseland (University of Groningen, Netherlands).

The 2020 Reviewer of the Year Prize was awarded to Niclas Berggren (Research Institute of Industrial Economics, Sweden) and Frank Decker (University of Sydney, Australia).