Institutions and the Knowledge Economy

6th International Conference on Applied Economics

University of Thessaly, Volos, Greece

30 May-1 June 2019

Download the call for papers

WINIR is pleased to sponsor the 6th Conference on Applied Economics on "Institutions and the Knowledge Economy" organised by the Postgraduate Program of the Department of Economics, University of Thessaly, Volos, Greece, on 30 May-1 June 2019.

The disruptive nature of technical change has escalated as the economic crisis erupted. In that context it became evident that appropriate institutional arrangement (formal and/or informal), organizational structures and human capabilities are required to direct this change and help players embrace the ongoing information and communication technology revolution towards the development of really competitive, innovative, socially-cohesive and knowledge-based economies. The rise of the “knowledge economy” poses challenges at the economic, business, cultural, social and institutional structures. New modes of production, distribution and value creation are identified along with new divides, disparities and inequalities.

The 6th Volos Conference provides a forum for the discussion of these issues. The conference will open on the afternoon of 30 May and close in the afternoon of 1 June. The entire event will be held in the University of Thessaly's Economic Department. All presentations will be in English.

Keynote speakers will be announced shortly.

The conference is particularly interested in the following (non-exhaustive list of) themes:

  • Firms and the knowledge economy
  • Human Capital and the knowledge economy
  • Political Economy of the ‘brain drain’
  • State policies and the knowledge economy
  • Socio-technical transitions
  • Regional disparities and the knowledge economy
  • Inequalities and new divides
  • Sustainability, resilience and the knowledge economy
  • Commons and the knowledge economy
  • Social and solidarity economy in the new knowledge era
  • De-growth and the knowledge economy
  • Geo-economics of knowledge

In addition to individual papers, colleagues are invited to propose special sessions.

Selected papers will be published in a collective volume in an international publishing house or peer reviewed journals.

The conference will also feature young scholar sessions for PhD candidates. Students working on the above areas are encouraged to submit a full paper. The best individually submitted “Young Scholar Paper” will receive a prize at the end of the conference.

Abstract submissions (350 words max.) and/or session proposals (350 words max.) should be sent to

Please note the following key dates

30 January 2019 - Abstract submission deadline
7 February 2019 - Extended abstract submission deadline
15 Feburary 2019 - Notifications of acceptance
20 April 2019 - Full paper (PhD candidates only) submissions

Registration fees: The standard registration fee is 100€. The fee for PhD students is 50€.

Detailed travel and accommodation instructions will be soon available on the conference website.

Scientific committee: E. Adamides (University of Patras), P. Arvanitidis (University of Thessaly), Μ. Chletsos (University of Ioannina), S. Drakopoulos, (National and Kapodistrian University of Athens), V. Drymbetas (Democritus University of Thrace), A. Economou (University of Thessaly), P. Fytsilis (Technological Institute of Thessaly), G. Goletsis (University of Ioannina), G. Gritzas (Aristotelian University of Thessaloniki), Y. Kalogirou (National Technical University of Athens), C. Kollias (University of Thessaly), Α. Konstantelou (University of the Aegean), N. Kyriazis (University of Thessaly), G. Liagouras (University of the Aegean), T. Metaxas (University of Thessaly), D. Milonakis (University of Crete), Ι. Psycharis (Panteion University), Y. Stamboulis (University of Thessaly), Υ. Theodossiou (University of Aberdeen), P. Tsaliki (Aristotelian University of Thessaloniki), L. Tsoulfidis (University of Macedonia) and Μ. Zouboulakis (University of Thessaly).

Local Organizing Committee (Department of Economics, University of Thessaly):P. Arvanitidis, A. Economou, Ε.Μ.L. Economou, C. Kollias, M. Kontaxi, T. Metaxas, Y. Stamboulis, G. Stefanis and Μ. Zouboulakis (Coordinator of the organizing committee).